Page 63 of 365.

service4_3

As illustrated, today’s service is all about “listening”.

The two pointers with regards to listening to God’s Word well are:

#1 Accept the Word – Internalize It.

#2 Apply the Word – Externalize It.

I think what really impacted me throughout the sermon was this:

“We know we are listening to God when what we read in the Bible is what others see in our lives.”

 

I’m making this my purpose for this year. Yeap, I am. Nevertheless, thank God for a wonderful sermon today!


 

Thanksgiving #1

Got 3 pairs of shoes stolen today. Total damage done: $520

However, I thank God for this tragic scenario. Why? Usually, if such thing happened, I would have cursed and swear, heck, I’ll even hunt that guy down and give him a good beating.

Interestingly, the way I dealt with it was…different? I do admit, when I first found out, I was frustrated, annoyed and even complaining about it. But what kept me busy today was the thought that “God is testing you. How should you react to this?”.

And so, I tried so hard to understand that God is using this experience to test my reaction, my thinking and behavior. 2/3 passed. So… not too bad right?

 

Thanksgiving #2

Thank God for having the opportunity to be part of the guide’s briefing for the upcoming Encounter Weekend. It was a good first experience but I do thank God for this open door.

There’s a lot of praying to be done for this. Not a good experience at all.

 


nod

When your friends asked if you’re going for supper after a service. Comforting.

 

Well, my first “horrible day” in 2017 finally dawned upon me. Everything went so wrong today.

An empty shoe rack greeted me in the early hours of the day. After knowing three pairs of shoes were stolen, I made my way to the neighbourhood police centre just to find out that it’s closed.

Next, because of the morning drama, I was late to meet my cell brothers. 3×3 meeting was missed out. Due to missing that meeting, I went straight for Encounter Weekend Guides briefing.

I had a great scene in mind where I would mingle with the teens I’m attached to and play some icebreakers I had planned. While guides would be sharing and having fun in that lively room 5L.

Nope. Didn’t happen. Instead, bad things happened then.

The only good thing that happened tonight was during the supper time. Managed to clear most of the doubts this guy had about God and His Works. Really thank God for FCBS that I am able to help this guy understand deeper about why God does certain things.

Whatever that happened today, it really got me thinking, that I got complacent. I have been enjoying a long time of being comfortable life and when issues start raining down on me, I got a bit iffy about looking to God for strength.

It was a tough day. So many things happened and I had to really concentrate to find God and ask Him for strength and comfort. Oh, and thank God for MW as he prayed for me and it did help a lil’.

Yeap, there will be a lot of praying (for answers, for shelter, for comfort) tonight. Hopefully tomorrow is a better day!

Did you guys had a better Saturday than me? I do hope so! 🙂
Have a great and blessed Sunday everyone! ❤

 

Ariel
-tailsplash-
tailsplash

Revelation 1:3  Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.
Leave a Reply

